Midwifery Links

Pregnancy:

SOGC Women’s Health Information sogc.org/health/pregnancy_e.asp

Motherisk  www.motherisk.org

The Best Chance http://www.bestchance.gov.bc.ca/

Childbirth Connection healthypregnancybc.ca/page205.htm

Best Start http://www.beststart.org/resources/

Mothers of Change http://www.mothersofchange.com/p/about.html

HealthlinkBChttp://www.healthlinkbc.ca/womens.stm

Doula Services

Doula Services Association:  http://www.bcdoulas.org/

Tests/Screening Options:

BC prenatal genetic Screening: http://bcprenatalscreening.ca/

BCWH Prenatal Screening and Diagnosis http://www.bcwomens.ca/Services/PregnancyBirthNewborns/PrenatalScreeningDiagnosis/default.htm

Newborn Screening Program: http://www.bcchildrens.ca/Services/SpecializedPediatrics/NewbornCare/NewbornScreeningProgram/default.htm

Newborn Hearing Screen: www.phsa.ca/earlyhearing

Homebirth:

College of Midwives of BC Statement on Homebirth  http://www.cmbc.bc.ca/pdf.shtml?Registrants-Handbook-13-01-Statement-on-Home-Birth

Home Birth Handbook for Midwifery Clients http://www.cmbc.bc.ca/Registrants-Handbook-13-07-Handbook-for-Midwifery-Clients.pdf

 

VBAC & Breech:

College of Midwives of BC Guideline for VBAC http://www.cmbc.bc.ca/pdf.shtml?Registrants-Handbook-17-04-Guideline-for-Vaginal-Birth-After-One-Previous-Low-Segment-Cesarean-Section

SOGC Guideline for VBAC http://www.sogc.org/guidelines/public/155E-CPG-February2005.pdf

VBAC vs repeat Cesarean http://www.powertopush.ca/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/Best-Birth-Clinic-VBAC-Patient-Information-Booklet.pdf

Power to Push Campaign http://www.powertopush.ca/

Breastfeeding:

Jack Newman: http://www.breastfeedinginc.ca/content.php?pagename=information

La Leche League Canada: www.LLLC.ca

Parenting:

Caring for Kids http://www.caringforkids.cps.ca/

Ask Dr. Sears http://www.askdrsears.com/

Postpartum:

Sexuality and U http://www.sexualityandu.ca/

Pacific Post Partum Support Society http://postpartum.org/

Professional Associations & Guidelines:

Midwives of BC: www.bcmidwives.com

College of Midwives of BC: www.cmbc.bc.ca

Canadian Association of Midwives http://www.canadianmidwives.org/

Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada http://www.sogc.org/index_e.asp

Perinatal Services BC http://www.perinatalservicesbc.ca/

Canadian Pediatrics Society http://www.cps.ca/

Midwifery UBC http://www.midwifery.ubc.ca/midwifery.htm

Cord Blood Banking:

The Cord Blood Center http://cordbloodbanking.com/

Community Resources:

Best for Babies: http://www.abbotsfordcommunityservices.com/index.cfm?method=pages.showPage&pageID=e69ed93f-b6d1-6a80-51ea-9f1e8cb45b05

Fraser Valley Birth Center http://www.fvbirthnetwork.ca/

Fraser Valley Pregnancy Centre: www.fvpc.ca

Chiropractors:

Pacific Life Chiropractor: http://www.pacificlifechiropractic.com/

Serenity Chiropractic: www.serenitychiropractic.ca

Prenatal Classes:

The Birth Place http://www.thebirthplace.ca/

Douglas College http://www.douglas.bc.ca/programs/continuing-education/programs-courses/perinatal/p_labour.html

Lamaze International http://www.lamaze.org/

HypnoBirthing: http://www.hypnobirthing.com/

Prenatal Yoga:

Parallel Yoga: http://www.parallelyoga.ca/

Birth Supplies:

With Child www.withchild.ca

The Birth Place www.thebirthplace.ca

Mama Goddess http://www.mamagoddessbirthshop.com/

Photography:

Revival Arts Studio: www.rastudio.ca

Cradled Creations: www.cradledcreations.com

Bellies Baby and Beyond Photography: http://www.bbandbphotography.blogspot.com/

Substance Use/Addiction: 

Quit Now: http://www.quitnow.ca/

Healthy Choices in Pregnancy: http://www.hcip-bc.org/index.htm